Rodeo Blues

For the past I don’t even know how many but it’s more than 10 years and probably closer to 15, I have worked the ticket booth at an outdoor rodeo in Southern New Jersey. There are 5 of us in the booth and I genuinely like the people I have worked with over the years. We all have each others backs. We even hang out sometimes.

I wasn’t surprised when after the “new management” came in the booth this past Saturday and basically spoke to us like we were dirt that we all stuck with each other and quit. I’m still at a loss as to why people think they can talk to other people that way. Especially when you are running a business. ESPECIALLY when you never even met someone before. The “new” management wasn’t really new. She’s the owners daughter and has taken over this year. She’s trying to throw her weight around. I wouldn’t have known who she was if I fell over as she has never come in our booth prior to Saturday. You would think as an employer you would at least have met the people who work for you. Well…did work for you.

She stuck her hands on her hips, blocked the door so no one could get out and proceeded to say things to us like “you work for me now”, “Your being watched”, “I know about you”, “You got something to say? You better say it to my face!”

So after she left, we all kind of looked at each other and decided that was our last night there. And the only reason we didn’t walk out right then and there was because of our ticket booth leader who was on vacation. We didn’t want to make things harder for her upon her return. We all called her last night as we figured it was better to hear from us then “the management” I think she’s going to throw in the towel as well.

It’s a shame that the prior management was so nice and treated people like well…people. I’m not quite sure where the “new management” got her training from but she will soon find out that it’s not going to work. We were just the first wave to say our goodbyes. So next Saturday if you find yourselves at an outdoor rodeo in Southern New Jersey be on the look out for the angry-looking blond with bug-eyed sunglasses on, just give her a smile and say hello. Maybe she just needs a little kindness in her life. As for me, I’ll either be in my garden or on my hammock. Probably my hammock 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

