This is hard

A package of live plants showed up on my front steps the other day. While I had mapped out what I was going to do once I got home from work that day, the live plants ended up at the top of my to-do list and my laundry STILL in not done. Not that I’m complaining….

In the package were some live plants that I had ordered previously. I knew they were coming. I just didn’t know when. So there they were! Two rose bushes. Raspberries and hydrangea plants. Some bulbs, and some daisys. Everything is dormant when it is sent but should be planted as soon as possible. I took my post hole digger and shovels and headed outside! Thank goodness it was a nice day out. My first goal was to plant the 2 hydranga bushes/plants/whatever. They need the partial sun. I picked at nice spot in the corner of the yard near a tree. In the summer there will be some shade. It took me 20 minutes just to get the ground ready. Post hole diggers are heavy! I have little arms! I got it done though and then watered them to settle the ground. I moved on to the raspberries. Now I grew raspberries before and had a nice little patch. For some reason all the plants died last year and I got nothing in the summer. Time for a replant. First I had to prepare that soil. There were several small trees that were starting to come up right where I wanted to plant them. I got my shovel and started to dig. And dig, and dig, and dig, and…do you know how far tree roots go? Even when it’s a baby tree and you think the roots would be small they are not and they are long and tough! At one point I could barely move my arms and was getting dizzy. As you can tell, I don’t work out much. Ok at all. It was getting dark out but I did manage to get those 4 plants in the ground. Again, they are dorment and won’t fruit this summer but next year should be plentiful. Unfortunately I was unable to move after that I could not plant the rest of my order. It’s ok though, they are fine for a few days in a dark cool place like the basement.

I was a little down in the dumps when I collapsed on the coach after my shower later. A whole bag of plants and I only managed to plant a few of them in 2.5 hours?? Should I just stick to sprouts? What about the stand this summer? Can I really do this? I’m not a big fan of the self-pity party so I thought about my dad. I’m sure it was hard for him at some point in his life to. I just didn’t know him then. When I did know him, he made it all look easy. He also had a full-time job for over 40 years and still managed to have a big garden so I knew I could do it as well. I know there will be days when I am tired and I know there will be days when I am cranky and I know there will be days when I procrastinate. My dad used to get up a 4:30 – 5 a.m. to go in the garden most mornings. I will NOT be doing that. But some days I probably will go out and check on things before work and earlier on the weekend too. I’ll make it work somehow. I’ll figure it out 🙂

Yesterday I didn’t do any planting. I had to do some things inside the house and I didn’t have much energy. That was ok though, because today I feel like when I go home I can plant a few more things. Let’s just hope they grow! I’m ready for some pretty!

Leave a Reply

