What Am I Doing Here?

As I sit at my desk (don’t worry it’s my lunch break) I ask myself, “What am I doing here?” This is a question that has been coming up more and more. I’m not talking about being on this great big Earth of ours. I really mean why am I here in my chair at my desk right now. Is this what I really want to do? Is this what I am passionate about?

When I am in my dad’s garden with the dirt between my fingers, I am at peace. When I walk down the lane with my basket to my dad’s bigger garden at his brothers farm, I am happy. When I take out my dad’s little produce stand that he had for over 20 years in my family’s front yard and put out all the fresh veggies that I picked that same morning, I am invigorated.

My dad passed away this past July after a 3 month battle with cancer. He was a simple honest man who worked hard his entire life to support his family. He never traveled further then a few hours away as he could not be away from the land that he loved. After he passed, I have been thinking about his passion for the land and how happy that made him. Can I be that passionate about my job now? Can I live off of the land as he did?

3 thoughts on “What Am I Doing Here?

  1. So sorry to hear about your dad. I find myself asking myself those exact same questions about what am I doing here and why. Often. Sometimes I have to get up and walk down the hall or outside to get my head out of it so I can go back to work. When does one know if they are doing the right thing with their life? I do not think we are supposed to ask those questions, at least not in those ways, if we are doing what we are supposed to be doing. I am on my quest to figure it out and set myself up to do it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

